Complete Story


Legislative Leadership for 133rd General Assembly Finalized

Legislative Leadership for 133rd General Assembly Finalized
The Senate caucuses officially elected their leadership teams at the opening legislative session on January 7, 2019.  Below are the leaders for each caucus.  In the coming weeks, leaders will announce committee chairman and committee composition.
The Senate Republicans will continue to be led by Senate President Larry Obhof.  Also on the Senate Republican leadership team is Senator Bob Peterson, Senator Matt Huffman and Senator Jay Hottinger.  The Senate President has also announced that Senator Matt Dolan will serve as the Chairman of the important Senate Finance Committee.
The Senate Democrats have voted to retain Senator Kenny Yuko as Minority Leader.  Filling out the Senate Democrat leadership team are Senators Cecil Thomas, Sean O’Brien and Sandra Williams.
In the most contentious leadership vote of the lot, the House Republicans elected Larry Householder to serve as Speaker.  He had been locked in a battle with the most recent Speaker Ryan Smith.  When it came to a vote Householder came out on top with a vote of 52-45. After Householder took the gavel on January 7th, it was announced that other leadership votes will be delayed.  On February 6, 2019, the remainder of the House leadership team was announced and sworn in.  They are Republicans:  Jim Butler, Bill Seitz, Anthony DeVitis, Jay Edwards and Laura Lanese.  
Democrats officially elected their leadership as well on February 6th.  They will be led by Minority Leader Emilia Sykes.  Filling out the Democrat leadership team are Representatives Kristen Boggs, Kent Smith and Paula Hicks-Hudson.

Printer-Friendly Version